Find out everything you need to know about the epic cricket competition, including dates, venues, who's playing, and how you can get tickets...

Since its introduction in 2003, Twenty20 cricket has become one of the most popular forms of the sport worldwide. With its larger focus on hitting and scoring, T20 has revolutionized the modern game.

The Vitality T20 Blast was established by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2003 and was the first professional Twenty20 cricket league in the world.

The competition is contested by the 18 first-class counties all competing for the coveted Vitality Blast title.

The teams are split into two divisions, the North Group and the South Group. The top four teams in each division progress through to the playoffs, to battle it out until one emerges victorious in the T20 Vitality Blast Final.

With the Vitality Blast Off men’s opening games done and dusted and the 2024 season underway, we’ve got everything you’ll need to know about the league and its thrilling, fast-and-furious matches. It’s a must-see for fans of English and Welsh cricket.

Keep reading to find out everything you need to know about this huge competition, including the dates, venue, who's playing and how you can score premium T20 Blast tickets with Seat Unique.

Buy Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets

What is the Vitality Blast Off?

The Vitality Blast Off kicked off the entire Vitality Blast league. This year, eight different men’s matches took place from 30th May 2nd June to open the season. The scores were as follows:

Thursday 30th May

  • Hampshire Hawks (162/9) v Surrey (163/5) at The Ageas Bowl
  • Lancashire Lightning (76/1) v Durham (75) at Emirates Old Trafford

Friday 31st May

  • Durham (101) v Birmingham Bears (105/4) at Seat Unique Riverside
  • Notts Outlaws (157/2) v Northamptonshire Steelbacks (154) at Trent Bridge
  • Somerset (197/6) v Essex (193/6) at Cooper Associates County Ground

Saturday 1st June

  • Birmingham Bears (149) v Notts Outlaws (127) at Edgbaston

Sunday 2nd June

  • Surrey (163) v Somerset (106) at the Kia Oval
  • Northamptonshire Steelbacks (157/8) v Yorkshire Vikings (186/6) at County Ground, Northampton

How does the Vitality Blast work?

With the opening games played, in terms of T20 Blast dates, the league will now progress over the course of the next three-and-a-half months.

18 teams in total take part, The sides are divided into two groups of nine - one the South Group and one the North Group, depending on their location in the country.

Each team will play a total of 14 games. They’ll play six teams within the group twice and then the remaining two teams once.

The four teams that top each group will go into the quarter-finals, and the four winners will then go on to the final.

Finals Day will be held at Edgbaston on Saturday 11th September. With last year’s winner, Somerset, wanting to defend their title from last year, there’s all to play for! And you can be there in style with one of our VIP packages.

Buy Vitality Blast T20 Finals Day premium tickets

Which teams are in the Vitality Blast?

There are 18 teams in the competition in total. Let’s take a look at some of them in more detail…

Birmingham Bears

The Bears, otherwise known as Warwickshire County Cricket Club, are one of the favourites to win the competition - and no wonder, because they’ve already beaten Notts Outlaws and Durham at the Blast Off.

Batter Rob Yates impressed during his 48-ball innings, hitting eight boundaries, including four sixes.

With a home ground of historic Edgbaston, the Bears will be one of the most exciting teams to watch as the league unfolds.

Buy Birmingham Bears Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets


Another team that’s got high odds of winning, Surrey are ones to watch after recently adding left-armed Aussie fast-bowler Spencer Johnson to the team. With a home ground of the iconic Oval in London, Surrey have already seen off last year’s winners, Somerset, there in their opening Blast Off game.

Buy Surrey Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets


Surrey’s historic London rivals, Middlesex will go head-to-head with their old foe on Friday, 5th July at the Oval.

Middlesex have recently added former Derbyshire captain Leus du Plooy to the team as well as Henry Brookes as a bowler, and fans will be hoping that the team have what it takes to get to the finals - where they’ve not appeared since 2008.

Buy Surrey v Middlesex Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets

Lancashire Lightning

Will Lightning strike this year? After getting to the quarter-finals last year, Lancashire will be hoping to ramp it up a notch and repeat their victory of 2015.

After beating Durham by nine wickets in their opening match, fans will have their eyes on key players such as Tom Bruce and Chris Green.

Buy Lancashire Lightning Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets

Yorkshire Vikings

Captained by Shan Masood, after beating Northamptonshire in the opening Blast Off game the Vikings will be hoping to bring victory home this year, after finishing eighth in 2023.

Keep an eye on South Africa’s Donovan Ferreira who will hope to add some fire to the middle order.

Buy Yorkshire Vikings Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets


Durham finished in seventh spot last year. However, they’ve beefed up their team since then by signing Leicestershire’s Callum Parkinson and Colin Ackermann, as well as Aussie pair Ashton Turner and Ben Dwarshuis.

Fans will be wondering if Durham could be an exciting underdog this year with these new additions.

Buy Durham Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets


With Jack Taylor returning as captain and Beau Webster signing up from Australia, this will be an exciting tournament for the team.

They last finished as runners-up in 2007, and will hope that 2024 will be a return to glory.

Buy Gloucestershire Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets

Which other teams are taking part in the T20 Blast?

The other teams taking part are:

How can I get VIP seats at the T20 Blast?

You’ve come to the right place! The Vitality T20 Blast is one of the most anticipated cricket events of the year, so demand for tickets is very high. Seat Unique is delighted to provide fans with official tickets to watch some of the country's top T20 teams go head-to-head all over the country this summer.

Sit in the glorious summer sun and soak up the fantastic matchday atmosphere, as the teams battle for the top spot in their groups. It couldn’t get any better.

Buy Vitality Blast T20 premium tickets