Image: Rugby League World Cup

We round up everything you need to know about the rescheduled Men’s Rugby League World Cup 2021, from match venues and fixture dates to securing official rugby hospitality packages.

Last updated: 08/11/2022

After the RLWC2021 announced last year that it had made the difficult decision to postpone the event, following the withdrawals of Australia and New Zealand, the competition is finally underway.

The Rugby League World Cup was first contested in 1954 between four nations; England, Australia, France and New Zealand. France hosted the inaugural competition, which was won by England after they beat the hosts 16-12.

In the modern day, the competition is between 16 countries and has taken place 16 times in 10 different countries. Australia are the current holders and 11-time champions. Only 3 countries have ever won the cup, with England (2 times) and New Zealand (1 time).

The Competition kicked off on 15th October 2022 with the opening game taking place at St James’ Park, Newcastle with former champions England thumping Samoa 60-6.

We are now into the semi-final stage of the competition with only 4 of the 16 teams remaining, but who will be victorious? Here's everything you need to know.

Buy Rugby League World Cup hospitality

Which venues are hosting the RLWC2021 rescheduled matches?

17 stadiums across England will host the Men’s RLWC2021 matches:

  • Anfield Stadium, Liverpool
  • Bramall Lane, Sheffield
  • Elland Road, Leeds
  • Emerald Headingly Stadium, Leeds
  • Emirates Stadium, London
  • Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington
  • John Smith’s Stadium, Huddersfield
  • KCOM Stadium, Hull
  • Kingston Park, Newcastle
  • Leigh Sports Village, Leigh
  • Old Trafford, Manchester
  • Ricoh Arena, Coventry
  • Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough
  • St James’ Park, Newcastle
  • The Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster
  • Totally Wicked Stadium, St Helens
  • University of Bolton Stadium, Bolton

Which teams qualified for the RLWC2021?

A total of 16 teams will compete in the tournament. All eight quarterfinalists from the 2017 tournament automatically qualify for the RLWC21, with the final eight teams having to go through a qualification process. See the full fixture list here.

The 16 teams who qualified are:

  • England (hosts)
  • Jamaica (Out)
  • Australia
  • Cook Islands (Out)
  • Fiji
  • Tonga
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • France (Out)
  • Wales (Out)
  • Scotland (Out)
  • Ireland (Out)
  • Greece (Out)
  • Italy (Out)
  • Lebanon

What's happened so far at RLWC2022?

England went on to win Group A, with Samoa finishing second and France and Greece kicked out of the competition.

Tweet: England top their group

11-time winners Australia and Fiji finished 1st and 2nd respectively in Group B, leaving Italy and Scotland in their stead. Group C saw New Zealand and Lebanon advance onto the knockouts, Ireland and Jamaica bowing out in the group stage.

Group D saw Papua New Guinea and Tonga secure the final 2 spots in the last 8, leaving Cook Islands and Whales out of the competition.

In the quarter finals, last year's victors Australia put Lebanon to the sword, winning 48-4 with a champions display. England also produced a very impressive performance, defeating Papua New Guinea 46-6 to advance to the next round.

New Zealand defeated Fiji 24-18 to set up a huge clash with Australia in the semi-finals, and Samoa narrowly edged out Tonga 20-18 to meet England in the other final four tie.

Tweet: Australia v New Zealand semi-final fixture at Elland Road

The semi-Finals will be taking place from Friday 11th of November until Sunday 6th of November. The Rugby League World Cup Final is scheduled to take place on 19th November 2021 at Old Trafford in Manchester.

When are the RLWC2021 Semi-Final matches in 2022?

There are 2 Semi-Final matches taking place on the 11th and 12th of November, the confirmed matches are:

  • Australia v New Zealand - 11/11/2022 - Elland Road, Leeds
  • England v Samoa - 12/11/2022 - Emirates Stadium, London

The Rugby League World Cup 2021 final will be held at Old Trafford, Manchester on the 19th of November.

When do Rugby League World Cup tickets and hospitality packages go on sale?

The RLWC21 has been absolutely explosive so far, producing some huge score lines and the action is expected to continue in the latter rounds. Get your tickets now, you won't want to miss it!

If you're looking to skip the queues and the hassle, then the VIP hospitality packages offered by Seat Unique are definitely for you.

Official Rugby League World Cup premium tickets, hospitality packages and private boxes are available to buy now through Seat Unique. If you have already purchased tickets or packages through our platform, your booking will be rolled over to the new 2022 dates.

Buy Rugby League World Cup hospitality