We explore the captivating journey of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup. From the inaugural edition in 2007 to the latest competition in 2022, we relive the moments that define this prestigious tournament.

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is the pinnacle of Twenty20 cricket, a thrilling format that has captured the hearts of cricket fans worldwide.

Since its inception in 2007, the tournament has witnessed some breathtaking displays of cricketing prowess.

From India's fairytale victory in 2007 to West Indies' dominance in the 2010s, the T20 World Cup has left fans with countless unforgettable cricketing moments.

In this blog, we take a look back at the winners of each edition from 2007 to 2023, showcasing the teams that emerged victorious and the unforgettable moments that defined their triumphs.

Register your interest in ICC Men's T20 World Cup Hospitality

The Complete List of T20 World Cup Winners

2007 - India

The first ICC Men's T20 World Cup was held in South Africa. As underdogs, India stunned the cricketing world by claiming the title.

Under the leadership of the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the young Indian team showcased fearless and dynamic cricket throughout the tournament, beating arch-rivals Pakistan in a thrilling final.

2009 - Pakistan

Two years following India's victory, the third edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup took place in England.

Pakistan emerged as the champions, displaying an impressive blend of solid batting, disciplined bowling, and exceptional fielding.

Under the captaincy of Younis Khan, Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in a closely contested final at Lord's, earning their first T20 World Cup title. Shahid Afridi's all-round brilliance and Umar Gul's exceptional bowling were instrumental in their success.

2010 - England

The second edition of the tournament was hosted by the West Indies. England, known for their traditional cricketing style, surprised everyone with their adaptability to the T20 format.

Under the captaincy of Paul Collingwood, England clinched their first T20 World Cup title, defeating arch-rivals Australia in a tense final.

2012 - West Indies

In 2012, the West Indies won their first-ever ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka.

Led by captain Darren Sammy, they showcased their power-hitting skills. The memorable final against Sri Lanka saw Marlon Samuels' explosive innings, including hitting four consecutive sixes off Lasith Malinga.

A remarkable victory over Sri Lanka in the final became memorable for their electrifying batting display and hitting four consecutive sixes in the last over.

2014 - Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, led by Lasith Malinga, finished as runners-up in the previous two editions and was determined to go one step further in Bangladesh.

Known for their bowling prowess and strategic gameplay, they defeated India in the final to claim their first T20 World Cup title. Kumar Sangakkara's heroic knock in the final played a crucial role in their victory.

2016 - West Indies

West Indies once again proved themselves as masters of the shortest format by becoming the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice.

Brimming with talented T20 specialists like Chris Gayle, Carlos Brathwaite, and Marlon Samuels, the West Indies team displayed exceptional power-hitting ability, particularly in the final against England.

Brathwaite's four consecutive sixes in the last over will forever be etched in cricketing history.

2021 - Australia

Australia added their name to the list of T20 World Cup champions in 2021. The tournament, held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman due to the COVID-19 pandemic, saw Australia dominate the competition.

In the final match against New Zealand at the Dubai International Stadium, Australia secured a resounding eight-wicket victory, chasing down New Zealand's total of 172 runs.

Mitchell Marsh played a pivotal role, scoring a half-century and being named the Player of the Match for his outstanding performance. This win marked Australia's first-ever victory in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup.

2022 - England

England won the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in 2022. The final match was played on November 13, 2022, at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Melbourne, Australia.

They emerged as the champions by defeating Pakistan in the final by five wickets. Sam Curran from England was named the Player of the match in the final.

Who has won the most ICC Men's T20 World Cups?

The West Indies and England share the record for winning the most ICC Men's T20 World Cups, with both teams emerging victorious on two occasions.

The West Indies triumphed in 2012 and 2016, and England claimed the title in 2010 and most recently in 2021.

Who will host the T20 World Cup in 2024?

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup in 2024 will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the United States. This edition of the tournament is scheduled to take place in 2024. The West Indies and the United States were awarded the hosting rights by the ICC in November 2021.

How to secure your spot at ICC Men's World Cup 2024

The 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup marks the ninth installment of the Twenty20 International (T20I) tournament, featuring men's national teams and organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Set to take place from 1st June - 29th June 2024, the tournament will be hosted by the West Indies and the United States.

Register your interest today to be the first to know when official hospitality packages and VIP tickets for the T20 World Cup go on sale, including the highly anticipated opening fixture, USA vs Canada.

Register your interest in ICC Men's T20 World Cup Hospitality