Delve into the history of the iconic EFL 'Carabao' Cup, witness remarkable performances by football's greatest-ever players, and explore the top 10 Carabao Cup leading scorers in the tournament's history.

The Carabao Cup holds a prominent position in the realm of domestic football in England, standing shoulder-to-shoulder with the league and FA Cup. Since its inception in 1963, this illustrious competition has witnessed the triumphs of 23 different clubs, with Liverpool leading the pack with nine victories.

Aston Villa, the pioneers, clinched the inaugural title, while Manchester United claimed the trophy in the most recent edition with a commanding 3-0 victory over Newcastle United.

Throughout the tournament's rich history, legendary players like Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, and Erling Haaland have entranced fans with their remarkable performances. Join us as we list the top ten most prolific scorers in the esteemed Carabao Cup.

Buy Carabao Cup Final hospitality tickets

10. Andy Cole

Goals: 17 | Games: 24 | EFL Cup Wins: 0

Andy Cole, remembered for his time at Manchester United, scored 17 goals in 24 Carabao Cup matches. During his time at Newcastle United in the early 1990s, Cole played a crucial role in the team's success in the competition.

In the 1993-1994 season, Newcastle reached the quarterfinals of the Carabao Cup, with Cole making valuable contributions as a goal scorer.

Although Newcastle didn't win the Carabao Cup during his tenure, Cole's performances showcased his ability to find the back of the net and contribute to his team's progression in the tournament.

9. Nathan Ellington

Goals: 18 | Games: 20 | EFL Cup Wins: 0

At number nine in the rankings is former Wigan, Derby, and West Brom striker Nathan Ellington. The Bradford-born forward loved to score in the Carabao Cup, netting 18 goals in 20 games.

Ellington was never a fruitful goal scorer, only scoring 130 goals in his 490 career appearances. He also struggled to hit the net in the Premier League and was much more suited to the championship.

8. Jay Rodriguez

Goals: 18 | Games: 32 | EFL Cup Wins: 0

At number eight is Burnley and Southampton striker Jay Rodriguez, with a respectable 18 goals in 32 games. The striker has spent most of his career at Burnley, scoring 71 times for the club in 162 appearances.

The Burnley-born forward came so close to Carabao Cup glory in 2017 when they faced off against Manchester United in the final, however, goals from Ibrahimovic and Lingard sealed the win for United and Rodriguez had to settle for a runners-up medal.

7. Frank Lampard

Goals: 18 | Games: 42 | EFL Cup Wins: 2

At number seven is Chelsea legend and the Premier League’s all-time top-scoring midfielder Frank Lampard. The former Blues captain scored over 200 goals in his career, an unbelievable feat for a central midfielder.

Lampard also had a knack for scoring in the Carabao Cup, with 18 goals in his 42 appearances. The Romford-Born player won the Carabao Cup twice in his playing career, in 2005 and 2007.

6. Alan Shearer

Goals: 19 | Games: 31 | EFL Cup Wins: 0

At number 6 is Newcastle legend, Alan Shearer -  a legendary figure in English football, who has a rich history when it comes to the Carabao Cup. Throughout his career, Shearer made numerous appearances in the competition, leaving an indelible mark on its history.

Renowned for his exceptional goal-scoring ability and leadership qualities, Shearer's impact on the Carabao Cup cannot be overstated.

Throughout Shearer's career, he consistently demonstrated his prowess in the Carabao Cup, scoring goals 19 and guiding his teams to victories that etched his name into the competition's history books but without ever winning it.

He became close with Blackburn Rovers in 1993/94, losing to Manchester United in the final.

5. Michael Owen

Goals: 19 | Games: 24 | EFL Cup Wins: 3

Joining Alan Shearer on 19 Carabao Cup goals is England legend and Ballon d'Or winner Michael Owen. The former Liverpool and Real Madrid striker is one of the most devastating finishers the game has ever seen and his Carabao Cup stats reflect that.

The Chester-born ace scored 260 goals in his career and is one of only six English players to win the Ballon d’Or, with Owen the only English recipient of the award since the turn of the millennium.

4. Sir Kenny Dalglish

Goals: 20 | Games: 49 | EFL Cup Wins: 5

Sir Kenny Dalglish is a name that is very well known and loved by all the Liverpool faithful - the legendary striker hit the back of the net on over 300 occasions during his career, with 20 of those goals coming in the Carabao Cup.

The Glasgow-born marksman won the Carabao Cup four times as a player, scoring in the 1981 final. After retiring, Dalglish won the cup for the fifth time as manager of his beloved Liverpool.

3. Jermain Defoe

Goals: 22 | Games: 37 | EFL Cup Wins: 1

Although he isn't considered one of the English football greats, Jermain Defoe is a player who's been massively underrated by many.

The Beckton-born forward is one of the most lethal finishers that English football has ever seen, currently sitting ninth on the Premier League all-time top scorers list.

The former Tottenham striker has scored 286 career goals, with 22 of them coming in the Carabao Cup. Defoe also won the trophy in 2008 when his Tottenham side defeated Chelsea in the final.

2. Robbie Fowler

Goals: 33 | Games: 44 | EFL Cup Wins: 2

At number two we have the legendary Liverpool and Manchester City striker Robbie Fowler. The Toxteth-born striker is Liverpool's record Premier League goal scorer and the eighth-highest scorer in Premier League history, just edging out the man before him on this list.

In his 44 appearances in the Carabao Cup, Fowler notched an impressive 33 goals, setting him 10 goals above Defoe in third. He won the Carabao Cup on two occasions in 1995 and 2001, scoring Liverpool's only goal in the latter.

1. Ian Rush

Goals: 46 | Games: 44 | EFL Cup Wins: 5

At number one on our top scorers' list, we have Welsh footballing icon Ian Rush, one of British football's best-ever players. The former Liverpool, Juventus and Leeds United forward scored an astounding 346 goals across his career, with 46 of them coming in the Carabao Cup.

The ‘Welsh Wizard’ ended his career as Liverpool and Wales's all-time leading goal scorer and is an undoubted legend of the game. Rush won the Carabao Cup five times in his time with Liverpool, scoring the winning goal in the 1982 final.

How can I secure my seat at the 2024 Carabao Cup Final?

The 2022/23 edition of the competition has come and gone, with Manchester United adding another one to their tally of Carabao Cup (League Cup) victories.

The 2024 Carabao Cup Final is scheduled to take place on Sunday 25th February, at the legendary Wembley Stadium. Are you ready to cheer on Chelsea or Liverpool as they battle for the coveted EFL trophy?

As an Offical Hospitality Sales Agent of Wembley Stadium, Seat Unique is proud to offer you access to official matchday hospitality.

Enjoy one of the highlights of the English football season with an added level of VIP luxury as you benefit from premium inclusions such as:

  • Premium padded seating with unrivalled views of the pitch*.
  • Access to premium dining options*.
  • Early access to the stadium*.
  • Fast-tracked entry to the stadium*.
  • Access to private bars on the Club Wembley Concourse.

*Benefits listed above are based on general inclusions. Please click the link below for more details on the available packages.

Book Carabao Cup Final matchday hospitality

Be sure to check out our blog for all the details about upcoming Carabao Cup rounds and fixtures, as it will be updated when the relevant information is available.