The Italian Grand Prix at Monza has been part of Formula 1 since its inaugural season in 1950. To date, there have been 19 multiple-time Monza GP winners. Here we are listing the drivers who have 3 or more wins at the Monza Grand Prix.

Image: Podium celebrations at Monza. Credit - Pedrik, Flickr.

The Italian Grand Prix is one of the most iconic races on the F1 calendar, having been part of every single season since the inaugural Formula 1 season in 1950. And with the exception of 1980, the Italian Grand Prix has been held at Monza every year.

As such, there are many winners of the Monza Grand Prix, and a lot of them are multiple-time winners as well - 19 drivers in fact have won two or more Monza Grands Prix since 1950.

Discover the nine Monza GP winners drivers who have tasted victory three or more times.

Lewis Hamilton

5 Wins | 2012, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018

The greatest Formula 1 driver of the 2010s is joint-top for the most wins at the Monza Grand Prix, standing on the top step five times.

Four of his five wins came as a Mercedes driver, all of which he then went on to win the championship that season.

Most annoyingly for the Tifosi, his wins in 2017 and 2018 cost their driver, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, a win and added fuel to the fire that was and still is the Ferrari vs Mercedes rivalry.

He also has the most pole positions at the GP with seven.

Michael Schumacher

5 Win | 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006

Before Hamilton was winning with Mercedes power, the original seven-time World Champion Michael Schumacher was winning at Monza with Ferrari.

Schumacher was a dominant force during his time with Ferrari, and it showed at many circuits, including here at Monza.

He joins Lewis Hamilton with the most wins at Monza Grand Prix with five in total.

Juan Manuel Fangio

3 Wins | 1953, 1954, 1955

The original Greatest Of All Time, Juan Manuel Fangio dominated the first decade of Formula 1, winning five championships between 1951-1957.

He was brilliant around the Monza circuit as well, back when it had a slightly different layout to the one we know now.

Fangio is the only driver to have won three consecutive Monza Grands Prix, ending the three-year run of Italian drivers winning in Italy - a feat that would never be restarted, with only one other Italian driver winning once more in the GP’s history (Ludovico Scarfiotti, 1966).

Sebastian Vettel

3 Wins | 2008, 2011, 2013

Four-time World Champion Sebastian Vettel has some very fond memories of Monza, as it is the circuit and race where he picked up his first-ever race win in his Toro Rosso in 2008.

He won it a further two times during his reign of dominance with Red Bull during the first part of the 2010s.

Unfortunately, he was never able to stand on the top step during his six-year tenure with Ferrari.

Alain Prost

3 Wins | 1981, 1985, 1989

‘The Professor’ Alain Prost was a talent like no other in Formula 1, with an innate ability to be so in tune with his car.

This no doubt helped him in Monza, a track that requires a perfect setup to get the most out of the car and circuit.

With that, Prost went on to win three Monza Grands Prix, including in his rookie season in 1981, where he had also started on pole position.

Rubens Barrichello

3 Wins | 2002, 2004, 2009

Rubens Barrichello is known as one of the best drivers of all time to have never won a World Championship. While that is a big shame, at least he has a good legacy as one of Monza’s most successful drivers.

The 2002 and 2004 seasons alongside Schumacher at Ferrari were his best, finishing second in the standings in both years. His wins at Monza proved he was one of the fastest drivers on the grid.

His win at the 2009 edition was his last victory in Formula 1 and is still the last race win for a Brazilian driver in Formula 1.

What’s more, Barrichello holds the record for the fastest lap, set in 2004 with a 1:21.046.

Stirling Moss

3 Wins | 1956, 1957, 1959

From one of the best to never win a Championship to arguably the very best, Sir Stirling Moss won 16 races in his F1 career but could never capture the ultimate gold.

He won three Monza GPs, going back-to-back with wins in 1956 and 1957, then again in 1959.

The Brit was the second driver to win three times at Monza, a feat that wouldn’t be matched until the next entry on this list almost 20 years later.

Ronnie Peterson

3 Wins | 1973, 1974, 1976

Swedish driver Ronnie Peterson was the most successful driver at the Monza Grand Prix during the 1970s, winning three times.

The ‘SuperSwede’ was a brilliant driver who was unfortunate to have never won a World Championship, coming in second place in the Championship twice, and, like Moss and Barrichello, is one of the greatest drivers to never win a championship.

Tragically, Peterson’s life and career were cut short when he was involved in a multi-car crash at the 1978 Monza Grand Prix. The crash was not initially fatal, but instead, it was issues that arose while in intensive care at hospital that led to his death the morning after the race.

Nelson Piquet

3 Wins | 1983, 1986, 1987

Brazilian driver Nelson Piquet won three Monza Grands Prix to go along with his three World Drivers’ Championships.

He won four Italian Grands Prix in his career, but the first one was when it was held at Imola, so it doesn’t count towards this list.

How to be at the Monza Grand Prix in style

The Monza Grand Prix is one of the most desirable races to attend for fans for many reasons, with the main reason being that it is an exhilarating race and a thrilling experience.

The fast-paced nature of the circuit breeds incredible action all race long up and down the grid, providing fans with an absolute spectacle.

If you’re interested in attending the Monza Grand Prix at some point, why not look to upgrade your experience with premium Monza Grand Prix tickets and hospitality?

With these luxury ticket packages, you can have the grandest Monza GP experience that will ensure you have a race weekend to remember.

Seat Unique is proud to be officially working with the Monza Grand Prix for the 2023 season, offering fan access to hospitality packages and VIP tickets to the race.

Be sure to check out our blog on the best places to watch the Monza Grand Prix so you can figure out what is the ideal seating area and package for yourself, and buy your premium Monza Grand Prix ticket now!

Buy Monza Grand Prix hospitality