Discover everything you need to know about the upcoming County Championship season. Plus, find out how you can secure the best seats in the house.

Last Updated: 06/07/23 at 12:10

With the LV = Insurance County Championship set to return in 2023, get clued up on all the important information including format, last year’s results, teams and the remaining ECB fixture schedule.

Plus, discover how you can enjoy the best of the cricket season with a premium ticket or hospitality package for upcoming County Championship matches with Seat Unique.

Buy Hampshire CCC hospitality

Buy Durham CCC hospitality

Buy Warwickshire CCC hospitality

Buy Essex CCC hospitality

Buy Gloucestershire CCC hospitality

Buy Lancashire CCC hospitality

Buy Leicestershire CCC hospitality

How does county cricket work?

Red cricket ball on grass
Image: Red ball cricket (Photo by Alessandro Bogliari)

A two division structure is used in county cricket where 10 counties play in Division One and eight in Division Two.

Sixteen rounds are played in the season from April through to September where each county will play 14 red-ball matches (7 home and 7 away). A “match” includes the four days of the test.

A team is awarded 16 points for a victory, 8 points for a tie and 8 points if a match is drawn.

How many overs are in county cricket?

There is no set amount of overs that have to be played in a county match, however, typically 90 to 100 overs are played on each day of the test.

The first innings is usually called when all members of the team have been batted out.

How many teams are relegated from the cricket County Championship?

Currently, two teams are promoted and two teams are relegated in each season of county cricket.

Who won the County Championship 2022?

Surrey took home the Division One County Championship title last season, with Lancashire and Hampshire taking the runner up positions.

In Division Two, Nottinghamshire and Middlesex took first and second places and were promoted to Division One.

Yorkshire and Gloucestershire found themselves at the bottom of Division One and were relegated.

County Championship cricket teams 2023

In 2023, Division One will include:

  • Surrey
  • Lancashire
  • Hampshire
  • Essex
  • Kent
  • Northamptonshire
  • Somerset
  • Warwickshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Middlesex

Division Two will include:

  • Yorkshire
  • Gloucestershire
  • Glamorgan
  • Worcestershire
  • Derbyshire
  • Durham
  • Sussex
  • Leicestershire

How many overseas players are allowed in county cricket?

Each county club is allowed to field a maximum of two overseas players.

When does the cricket County Championship start?

Round one will begin on Thursday 6th April.

When does the cricket County Championship end?

Round 16 will conclude on Friday 29th September.

How can I watch the County Championship live?

The ultimate way to watch a County Championship match live is from the best seats in the house in the heart of the action.

Nothing beats the atmosphere of experiencing a cricket match in person. And, you can take your day to the next level by enjoying unrivalled views, as well as premium inclusions.

Seat Unique is delighted to open fan access to County Championship fixtures for Hampshire, Warwickshire, Durham and Essex in 2023.

Through our trusted online platform, you can book official premium tickets and hospitality packages that will help  guarantee your experience will be one to remember.

With a hospitality package you will enjoy inclusions such as:

  • Unrivalled views from prime positions such as behind the bowler’s-arm
  • Premium padded seating
  • Fast-tracked entrance
  • Inclusive drinks and exclusive bar access
  • Stunning catering options

*Inclusions vary based on venue and date

Check out premium offerings for County Championship fixtures and secure your place with Seat Unique today!

Buy Hampshire CCC hospitality

Buy Durham CCC hospitality

Buy Warwickshire CCC hospitality

Buy Essex CCC hospitality

Buy Gloucestershire CCC hospitality

Buy Lancashire CCC hospitality

Buy Leicestershire CCC hospitality

Keep reading to discover the full fixture list.

County Championship cricket fixtures

Round 10- 10th-13th July

  • Durham v Gloucestershire (Seat Unique Riverside)
  • Glamorgan v Leicestershire (Venue TBC)
  • Kent v Warwickshire (Spitfire Ground, Canterbury)
  • Lancashire v Essex (Blackpool)
  • Middlesex v Northamptonshire (Merchant Taylors)
  • Somerset v Hampshire (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton)
  • Surrey v Nottinghamshire (Kia Oval)
  • Sussex v Derbyshire (1st Central County Ground, Hove)
  • Worcestershire v Yorkshire (New Road)

Round 11- 19th-22nd July

  • Derbyshire v Durham (Venue TBC)
  • Essex v Kent (Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford)
  • Gloucestershire v Glamorgan (Cheltenham)
  • Leicestershire v Worcestershire (Oakham School)
  • Middlesex v Surrey (Lord’s)
  • Northamptonshire v Somerset (County Ground, Northampton)
  • Nottinghamshire v Hampshire (Trent Bridge)
  • Warwickshire v Lancashire (Edgbaston)
  • Yorkshire v Sussex (Headingley)

Round 12- 25th-28th July

  • Derbyshire v Glamorgan (Incora County Ground, Derby)
  • Gloucestershire v Worcestershire (Cheltenham)
  • Hampshire v Essex (Ageas Bowl)
  • Lancashire v Northamptonshire (Emirates Old Trafford)
  • Nottinghamshire v Kent (Trent Bridge)
  • Somerset v Surrey (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton)
  • Warwickshire v Middlesex (Edgbaston)

Round 13- 3rd-6th September

  • Durham v Sussex (Seat Unique Riverside)
  • Essex v Middlesex (Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford)
  • Hampshire v Somerset (Ageas Bowl)
  • Leicestershire v Gloucestershire (Uptonsteel County Ground)
  • Northamptonshire v Lancashire (County Ground, Northampton)
  • Surrey v Warwickshire (Kia Oval)
  • Worcestershire v Glamorgan (New Road)
  • Yorkshire v Derbyshire (Scarborough)

Round 14- 10th-13th September

  • Glamorgan v Yorkshire (Sophia Gardens)
  • Gloucestershire v Derbyshire (Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol)
  • Kent v Nottinghamshire (Spitfire Ground, Canterbury)
  • Lancashire v Middlesex (Emirates Old Trafford)
  • Sussex v Leicestershire (1st Central County Ground, Hove)
  • Warwickshire v Northamptonshire (Edgbaston)

Round 15- 19th-22nd September

  • Derbyshire v Sussex (Incora County Ground, Derby)
  • Essex v Hampshire (Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford)
  • Lancashire v Nottinghamshire (Emirates Old Trafford)
  • Leicestershire v Yorkshire (Uptonsteel County Ground)
  • Middlesex v Warwickshire (Lord’s)
  • Somerset v Kent (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton)
  • Surrey v Northamptonshire (Kia Oval)
  • Worcestershire v Durham (New Road)

Round 16- 26th-29th September

  • Durham v Leicestershire (Seat Unique Riverside)
  • Glamorgan v Derbyshire (Sophia Gardens)
  • Hampshire v Surrey (Ageas Bowl)
  • Kent v Lancashire (Spitfire Ground, Canterbury)
  • Northamptonshire v Essex (County Ground, Northampton)
  • Nottinghamshire v Middlesex (Trent Bridge)
  • Sussex v Gloucestershire (1st Central County Ground, Hove)
  • Warwickshire v Somerset (Edgbaston)
  • Yorkshire v Worcestershire (Headingley)

If you want to watch England battle it out against Australia in the Ashes 2023, explore premium tickets and hospitality.